Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

· Registered
494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Whats your most accurate hunting rifle?
whats the caliber and most accurate load?
do you use the same load in the field?
what range do you shoot it from and do you practice from field positions?
what scope?

for me I have a 20" Steyr 308 w/ a Zeiss conquest 4-14x44.
it shoots the Hornady 168 AMAX over 41.5 gr of H4895 at 2550 MV and .5-.6" 3 shot groups are not uncommon.
while they do work as hunting bullets and i have killed deer with them i prefer a 165 BTSP at the same MV.
i shoot it out to 200 from the prone and sitting. freehand i only shoot at 100 yards or less.

i just started shooting a 30-06 that i like alot. it puts a 200 gr SP 1.75" below POI of the hornady 180's. nice rige to switch hit with. i can shoot 200's in the AM hunts in the bottoms and if i sit a clearcut or pasture in the PM i can switch out to the 180's. time will tell if i keep her or not.

· Premium Member
17,138 Posts
Winchester mod. 70 cprf in 223wssm,..Simmons3x9x40 scope.
I can cover up 3 shots with a dime @ 75yds. Thats off the bench.
Offhand not quite so good.I have'nt shot anything with it yet.
Oh,...Ammo was winchester supreme ballistic silvertip 55.grain.

· Registered
11,693 Posts
NEF Ultra 25-06 1" at 150 yards. I just ordered dies and bullets for it. I'll be trying some hornady btsp 100gr. It shoots rem. core lokt 100gr. the best.

I'm currently loading 243 and got a 1/2" group at 100 yards using 100gr. seirra game king and 41.5 gr. of powder.

Will also be loading 223 soon too.

· Registered
9,620 Posts
I have 3 that are really accurate...but 1 is seldom shot, as it was my dad's...it is a Wn Mdl 70 in 30/06 with a Weaver K6, shooting Dad's favorite handload with a 150 gr Flat nose Sierra bullet.....3 shot groups covered with a dime at 100yds........