Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Moderator<br>Help Forum<br>
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I just want to get this out there; I have no delusions that I am even remotely good enough to really compete in a tournament. I just think they sound fun and would like to try some out. I'm very new to shooting but enjoy it very much.

Where is the best place to start? I am located just outside of Heber Springs and can't really afford to travel a long way to a shoot.

·
Registered
7,199 Posts
DON"T DO IT!!!! You will become an addict. Just say no.

Just kidding of course, it is a blast. Oh, and if you can fling an arrow, you can shoot good enough. I'm not sure where to go in your area, but find out what is close and just go. When you sign in, tell them you are new and they can hook you up with a group that will give you some pointers along the way. The rules are pretty simple and once you shoot a course you will have that part down. Most 3D folks love to get someone new started, so don't be bashful about asking for some help. Wish I was closer, I'd just tell you to come on and go with me.

Half the game is being able to judge yardage. If you can't do it, you will learn. If you can, you will get better at it.

Take some binos if you have them. Not required, but they help you.

Use a hip quiver if you have one, get the quiver off the bow and you will shoot better. It is also a lot easier to just drop the arrows into a tube type quiver.

Don't be afraid to loose an arrow, or get one banged up.

Just have fun.:up:

·
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
DON"T DO IT!!!! You will become an addict. Just say no.