Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope this post meets guidelines as it involves a different type of shooting. I'm a wildlife photographer and have had so many inquiries about duck photos that I've decided it's time to get busy and shoot some waterfowl images to my website. I want sunrise/sunset shots that include the landscape and ducks taking flight and/or landing on water. I realize the ducks have not arrived in full force due to the warm weather as I'm still waiting for bald eagles to arrive, but I'm trying to get my ducks in a row in advance lol! Suggestions on locations? My plan is to get out and shoot on morning/evenings when there is no hunting going on. I do have a kayak so I can paddle in, if necessary.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Very familiar with Holla Bend. I shoot there pretty often, particularly the snow geese. But the area in front of the viewing platform has never produced much in the way of waterfowl when I've been there, mostly egrets and herons. Have you seen a lot of ducks out there?

·
Registered
515 Posts
Big Lake NWR in NE Arkansas would be a great place to photograph ducks. The federal side can't be hunted so you wouldn't have to worry about messing up anybody's hunt. I'm just not 100% sure how much you can access, at least not by foot or vehicle. There are always a variety of divers on Mallard Lake. And the ditches and marshy area on the west side of Mallard Lake always have ducks, and you may be able to photograph them from the road.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I deer hunt hollabend and there were tons of ducks a month ago. I'm sure quite a few still around. Also there are a couple hidden ponds from the road that hold lots of ducks. I couldn't imagine going there this time of year and not seeing any ducks

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·