Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
new to traditional bowhunting. What is a good all around poundage for a bow. I know ive heard storys of what Fred Bear shot but how about normal men. Im 5'11" 200LB.

·
Grand Member
15,439 Posts
I'm about your size and I shoot a 50 pound bow. I've shot bows in the 60's ok, but feel a lot more comfortable with the 50.
A lot more folks mess up get'n too much bow, than not enough, with traditional. A 40# bow will kill a deer.

·
Registered
23,356 Posts
I'm not an expert but I would suggest something in the 40-45# range to begin with. Kinda learned the hard way, I had been shooting 80# compounds and got a 65# longbow. After about 6 shots I had blood oozing out from under my fingernails. :eek:

·
Registered
4,610 Posts
Been there myself

I was shooting a compound at 67 lbs when I decided to go traditional. I went with a 50 pound recurve and adjusted to it nicely. I don't think I want to go any heavier.

I also have a 40 pound recurve that is a joy to shoot but somehow I feel more confident that my 50 pound bow is the right one for hunting for me.

·
Premium Member
11,480 Posts
Dad's first recurve bow he bought in the early 1970's is around 45# pull, and I'm seriously thinking of putting some arrows together for it....

All this talk about traditional bows, and tales told of Neotoxo holding his own shooting a trad bow agains the modern folks at the "smackdown" has me interested again. It all sort of goes with my "flintlock mentality" approach to hunting and shooting; if you like it, and it's fun, and it's legal, have at it!

Isn't the minimum pull for deer hunting 45 lbs? It's been a loooong time since I looked.

·
Registered
14,382 Posts
Isn't the minimum pull for deer hunting 45 lbs? It's been a loooong time since I looked.
I think it's 40.