treeing with other dogs but will not bark on track need help

Discussion in 'Huntin' Dogs' started by Imca19, Dec 13, 2012.

1. Imca19

Imca19 Member

walker 1 year old will tree with others but will not bark on track any suggestions will be greatly appreciated

2. BowHunter21

BowHunter21 Select Member<br>2015-16 Deer Hunting Contest Winn

Sheridan
    I'm no expert by any means so take this with a grain of salt!!!

but if he's treein with other dogs I think I would try to hunt him solo for a while and see if he'll put it together on his own... He may be becoming dependent on the older dogs he's runnin with.. but on the other hand, he is still young and just may take a lil more time and confidence in himself to bawl on track.

3. how long since he started treein with other dogs?

4. gunslinger66

gunslinger66 Account Suspended

He will come around, I would hunt him by his self some this may help. One thing I have noticed is a lot of these pups now days are a little tighter mouthed.

5. Put him in some thick stuff.. I've seen tight mouthed dogs open in thickets...

6. gunslinger66

gunslinger66 Account Suspended

That is right I have seen a dog open more when they have to slow down and work instead of just flying a track through the woods.

7. firecat

firecat Well-Known Member

put him on leash and tie back so he can't get to tree and let others belly up to tree while he watches

8. He didnt say he was loose at the tree, he said he wont open on track. I wouldnt throw himm out there by himself too quick, he can make some hard to break habits.

9. Nighthawk

Nighthawk Well-Known Member

Sounds like you got a good potential hog dog pm me if you get tired of him.

10. firecat

firecat Well-Known Member