Arkansas Hunting banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
961 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gents,

I'd like to begin reloading in various calibers. I am shooting a lot and would like to start working up loads for hunting and range. Plus it looks like a blast to get into.

I've got advice to start with a turret press. It makes sense to me and may be a bit quicker, but not quite as complicated as a progressive.

I'm looking at the Lyman T-Mag kit. Looks like I can get it for around $400.

Do any of you have experience with this press. What are the pros and cons? Is there anything I will need besides dies and shell holders?

Am i starting at the right place?

I'd like to begin re-loading 9mm, 45, 308, 270 and 300wm.

·
Registered
2,229 Posts
Dont know anything about the lyman press, all my equipment is RCBS, Rockerchucker press. I've been doing it for 25 years and can tell you its lots of fun. The first thing I would do is get a reloading manual and start reading it. If you know someone who is a qualified reloader, work with him some, he would have some good pointers.

·
Registered
3,931 Posts
I use a turret press and it is great. I like the fact that I screw in all my stuff into it at one time and switch from one to the other as needed. I do not see how anyone would not like one...d2

·
Registered
10,041 Posts