Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Tried to research and the more I read the more confused I get. I am considering getting a 9mm ar style pistol and would like to put a red dot and light on it. Is any gun bought as a pistol good? Do I have to worry about the “points”? I’m sure the answer is it’s anyones guess but do we expect them to stay “non-stamp” items?? I’m sure there’s more but that’s a start.

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
The new 'point' system muddies the water a bit... you should find the 3-page checklist and read it subjectively and then watch several Utube splanations before making up your mind on what you think...

I'm not a lawyer and don't pretend to be one but, As I Understand it... First they determine if the gun is a pistol, Rifle, SBR or "firearm" (bbl under 16" but OAL over 26" and not a SBR) based on OAL, BBL length, weight and presence of 'stock' or 'brace'... (could also fall under AOW... any other weapon)... if bbl is under 16" then eliminate the rifle... If OAL is over 26" then it's not a pistol... there may be other criteria... Some things are gauged without "accessories" (flash hider, brace etc) and others are with (complete unit as configured).

Since you're looking at a 9mm pistol... your probably going to have a bbl <16" and OAL <26" so the main concerns are if there is a brace... that will be subjected to the point system and different styles will have different points... and LOP (length of pull)... plus any "accessories" you have like sights etc.

Someone pointed out that there are some things that you can get dinged on more than once under different line items, so be careful... It's a long process and each aspect has to be evaluated individually... even the length of the buffer tube can matter...

Also, the evaluating agent may have his own opinions as to what is ok or not...
This points system is a going to be a real problem for anyone who wants a short AR...