Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a RCBS press under a bridge today. It was froze up but a little JB-80 and a brass hammer and is working freely. This is a heavy made press! How do i find out what the model # is? I will try to get photos posted.

·
Registered
2,573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I believe its heavier than that. Its a lighter color of green, but it may be faded. The grip on the handle looks like a green "bicycle" grip.The handle only has one position to screw in and the arms from the handle to the ram look shorter.

·
Administrator
87,941 Posts
I am by no means an expert on RCBS equipment, but I don't recall them making a heavier press than the Rockchucker. They make one with a larger opening called the Ammomaster, for loading 50BMG.

·
Registered
4,354 Posts
What you have is an old Rock Chucker. The bicycle handle was standard on the original rock chucker. It was painted with a light green krinkle-coat paint. Those were the best presses rcbs ever made. Hang on to it. I ordered new ball-type handles for one of mine and the other still has the original grip type handle. I'll see if I can find a picture of one of my old ones.

·
Registered
2,573 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Thanks fellas. Dirt Dart, thats it exactly, down to the green krinkle finish. I appreciate EVERYBODYS input! Kinda strange to find one that way. I need to remove the ram and polish it, but otherwise it seems fine. It even has a shellholder with it. Do they have a # on them? Will my lee shellholders fit? It also has a threaded bushing in the hole where you put the dies. Also, it looks like part of the silver thing is missing. Is it still usable?

·
Registered
4,354 Posts
Those presses have a pressed-in 7/8" tapped adapter to accept standard dies. If it has another threaded bushing it could be an adapter to accept 3/4" dies.