Need help with 1st Crossbow.

Discussion in 'Crossbows' started by Eb1, Jan 18, 2008.

1. Eb1

Eb1 Well-Known Member

I am going to buy a crossbow for hunting whitetail deer in south AR. What is a decent crossbow that you could recommend to me. I do not want the Cadillac of crossbows.

I am a total newb to bow hunting. I do need to put meat in the freezer. I am not a trophy hunter, and this is why I am going to buy a crossbow. Because the season is longer.

I am needing clean kills. I shoot a rifle really good, hence why I am wanting a crossbow.

I would like a red dot scope, and a good accurate, affordable crossbow.

Thanks everyone in advance.

2. ishootducks

ishootducks Well-Known Member

I know your lookin for a crossbow but if your health permits i would really encourage you to at least try out a compound before you go to a crossbow. They are a blast to shoot all year long even when your not hunting. If you still decide to get a crossbow you can never go wrong with a Horton. They have been building them for forever and make a quality bow with a price range from cheap to expensive but they are great bows.

3. fullcredit

fullcredit Super Moderator

Ditto on the Horton:thumb:

4. Eb1

Eb1 Well-Known Member

Why are you saying go with a compound bow? I am sure they are fun, but I just want to stock the freezer. I shoot guns for fun and food.

::::EDIT:::::
    I will try to shoot one, but the last time I tried it was a pain in the behind. Was hard to draw, and keep drawn. Of course this was 20 years ago. Maybe the tech of bows has come a long way.

5. ishootducks

ishootducks Well-Known Member