Need Advice/ Cold Feet

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by rackrocker, Dec 29, 2010.

1. rackrocker

rackrocker Active Member

I have been hunting for about 13 years now and I have yet to figure out how to keep my feet warm while deer hunting in the extreme cold. It becomes painful after a while and I tend to not enjoy the hunt as much and just want to get down and go turn the heater on in the truck. I have tried batterie heated socks (which do not work) and the hot hands you can stick in your boots. The problem with those is that once you stop walking the dont put out any heat so you then have wet feet from the sweat which becomes even colder. Any advice you guys have would be much appreciated.

2. austincrutchfield

austincrutchfield Well-Known Member

I have that problem also. Best thing i have found so far that i tried out this year. It was a pair of under armour socks and some rocky wool socks over them. Feet still get a little cold but not near as bad and i can sit there a while longer. Hopefully some more people will chime in and give us some more ideas

3. Tony Harris

Tony Harris Super Moderator<br>2012-13 Deer Hunting Contest Wi Staff Member

My feet sweat and in rubber boots my socks get wet or moisture is trapped even with wool socks. If I am hunting a box stand or blind I carry Ice Breaker over boots. Once in the stand I take my boots off and slip my feet in the over boots and then put the hand warmers in. Even with it 20 degrees Monday morning I made it just fine. I never put the hand warmers in until I stop to sit. I keep them in my coat pocket till then.

4. jjarvis0007

jjarvis0007 Well-Known Member