My dog is sick!

Discussion in 'Ask the Vet' started by kendract, Dec 29, 2010.

1. kendract

kendract Well-Known Member

I am taking her to the vet in an hour but I wanted to get opinions. This is my first time owning a dog on my own. I have 2 dogs, both are about 3-5 years old. I got them from my parents about a month ago and they don't remember how old they are. :smack:

They are both girls, from the same litter. Half dachshund, half something else that we never found out (but I think it's Beagle). Names are Gretchen and Heidi.

I just took a holiday trip back to Louisiana for 9 days total and took my girls with me. When I got back Sunday night, Gretchen kept me up all night with throwing up and diarrhea. Monday and Tuesday she seemed to be getting better except she wouldn't eat but half of what she normally eats. Last night she kept me up again. I kept having to take her out. I took her out 3 different times, each an hour apart. It was obvious her stool was liquid. It was dark and I hadn't my glasses on so I never paid attention. This morning, she went again and there was blood right after. :frown:

My poor baby! I scheduled an appointment for 10 a.m. Anybody had similar actions in their dogs before? I guess I just want reassurance that she's going to be okay. Her behavior isn't really different, besides the amount she eats.

2. kendract

How in the heck do I take a stool sample for my vet?

3. woodsnwater

woodsnwater Well-Known Member