multiple flocks?

Discussion in 'Turkey Hunting' started by carbonelement, Jan 9, 2011.

1. Yesterday I was hunting on the complete other side of our land than where I have been seeing the turkey flock I have been watching. this is 3000+ acres I am talking about. Anyway, while I was in my stand I heard some turkey coming from west of me. I thought there was a possibility that it could be them but It was a descent distance from where they usually are. So I glassed them and there is somewhere around 14 in this flock. My dad was sitting in the stand close to the other flock and he said they wre all there in force. He was watching them. After talking about them a little longer we realized we were seeing them at the same time. a LONG distance from one another. So, I am thinking I have a lot more turkey on the land than what I thought I had. I am even more excited about this year now. Can you have more than one flock on your land? Remember I am new at this and I have no clue. I don't see why you couldn't but I have no clue. Thanks for the input.

2. Yes sir.. On 3,000 acres you could have several resident flocks plus untold numbers of turkeys that are just passing through.. Keep in mind turkeys can and will travel great distances in a days time..

3. Like I said, I am new to this. I thought they would stay relatively close to where they roosted. I mean I knew they traveled I just had no clue how far. I thought they would have a relatively small "Home range" Thanks for the info. I learned something new today, lol.

4. ozark outdoorsman

ozark outdoorsman Account Suspended

Nope, large home range that will likely change or shift by spring.

5. thompson

thompson Well-Known Member

Man, I just like the name of the thread..."multiple Flocks". Something I haven't heard in a while.:biggrin:

6. Ain't that the truth.. I enjoy seeing birds this time of year but come April there's no telling where they'll be..

7. Kinda makes you wonder about an invite..:whistle:

8. thompson