Insulating floor joists

Discussion in 'Home, Garden, and Yard' started by jsilver919, Jan 2, 2011.

1. jsilver919

jsilver919 Well-Known Member

I started insulating the floor joists to our house today and found a whole new respect for everyone that does that sorta work for a living. I'm 6 2" and crawling around in the crawl space is def not my ideal afternoon. Hopefully the work will pay off and help keep the floors a little warmer. we have a large kitchen that is tile and when the weather gets cold that floor is like walking on ice. we are planning on putting hardwood in next yr so i figured with the "Bush" era taxes coming to an end i better do it so i can file it on my taxes this yr.

Has anyone else done this? and if so did it really make that big of a diff? guess i shoulda posted this b4 buying nearly 30 rolls of insulation....:head:

2. 10pointman

10pointman Waterfowl forum Sheriff<br>2011-12 Deer Hunting Co Staff Member

I used to Insulate houses for a living a long time ago.And your right,Insulating under the floor was the worst part of the job.I hated it,A mixture of dirt,cobwebs and fiberglass in your eyes is not a good way to make a living!

And it should help your cold floor problem,Your heating bill too.:up:

3. jsilver919

some help on the heating bill would def be nice. i guess this is what i'll be doing every night after work few the next wk or so. next yr i guess i'll start in the attic space. need to make some storage space up there

4. 10pointman

Be sure and install the paper side up,towards the living space.And a hammer stapler would help if you can find one,Its easier in tight spots.

5. jrock

jrock Well-Known Member

Man I hope he didnt install paper side down! Can you imagine the look on his face when he reads this if he did!!! :eek:

6. 10pointman

oops, should've kept my mouth shut! It will still work either way......I think.

7. btech29

btech29 Platnium Member<br>Forum Sponsor<br>Stud Duck