im new at this

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by Deadwood, Dec 12, 2012.

1. Deadwood

Deadwood Well-Known Member

Im new at this. im a 14 year old. i go with a buddy who is sixteen and im hunting the cossatot river. everytime we go we get a couple a piece. anyways i figured a correct decoy spred would help out? my dads been a few times but hes a deer huntin kinda guy so he wouldnt know. so my point being does any one have tips on a decoy spread?

2. cache man

cache man Well-Known Member

20 spinners is all you need!

3. factory909

factory909 Well-Known Member

What are you currently using right now? How many? What type? Being a river, does it provide enough movement for the decoys?

4. Deadwood

well just some handed down decoys the spot were i lay my layout near is bout 45 feet wide

5. BDW

BDW Premium Member<br>Merganser Slayer<br>2011 Turkey

I probably wouldn't use more than a dozen, maybe dozen and a half. Put them on the upwind side of your setup. I like to put them in small individual groups of 2-3 each. Leave a hole for them to land in. Maybe rig 3 or so on a jerk string if there's no current.

6. bloody acorns

bloody acorns Well-Known Member

Get you a jerk string and rip it back and forth to get some movement going - wad em up in a couple of groups with a hole in the middle - only use the best looking decoys you have if they are losing paint wouldnt use them

7. rabbitdundied

rabbitdundied Well-Known Member

Put the wind at your back make a V or a C with a hole where you want them to land. Keep them painted and bright. Nothing beats a jerk string for movement.

8. Deadwood

Thank yall, ill try all of them

9. cutthemcootsboys

cutthemcootsboys Active Member

AR
    aggreed!! Birds on small rivers tend to like wherever there are bends in the river. Try scouting to see where the birds are milling to and from accross the river. Therefore, you might can break some high ducks down into your spread.

10. BowHunter21