Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody im from around the hotsprings area. I moved up to Jonesboro this summer and am going to college at ASU. Its 3 and a half hours home...im new to this part of the state and was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction to a decent place to hunt..im in leases back down south but i cant afford to drive that far every weekend...Please let me know something...an hour or so away is no big deal...thanks everyone

·
Registered
1,433 Posts
Hey, I go to ASU as well, but I live in Walnut Ridge. The closest place for you to go would be drive up north (Hwy 49, 25-35 min away) to Paragould and hunt Scatter Creek WMA, there is a couple of gun season (short ones) there and bow hunting all season. Over my way there is Shirey Bay WMA (35-45 mins. away), Permit M/L hunt but some real good bowhunting if you are a serious hunter. Then father west you can go the Harold E. Alexander WMA (60-75 mins. away) with plenty of ground plenty of deer, permit M/G & M/L but bow hunting all season.

There are a couple more around, but those are the three I would (and have) hunt if I were you.

Let me know if you have questions.:up:

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hey man whats your name? u got facebook or somethin?...thats about all i do is bow hunt...hey i appreciate your help buddy...i imagine ill prolly go walkin some places out this weekend and get familiar with some places...i wonder if you can get a topo map for any of these?

·
Administrator
90,713 Posts
You should be able to find the sizes in the AGFC regs book or online at the AGFC web site. Most of the areas don't have a real high deer population, but the good thing about these swamp areas is that if you do see a buck, it has a real possibility of being a wall hanger.

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·