Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2,585 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know bows just keep getting better and better, faster and faster. I can't help but wonder how fast a bow really needs to be. My bow shoots just under 300 fps, with all of my goodies on it, and I can shoot deer looking at me without string jump, before they are hit. I have an old video put out by easton, and it shows arrows being shot in very slow motion, it is quite interesting to see the arrows looking like speghetti noodles coming off of the rest, even with proper tuning. I don't think I need a faster bow than I have. I shoot single pin and have very little drop from 20 to 30 yards, this is my max killing distance that I will try to take deer size game at. Any other thoughts on how fast is too fast. I am fairly knowledgeable on bows, but I would like to hear other opinions on the need for speed.

·
Registered
4,500 Posts
While I am no expert on bows, actually fat from it. I have a Jennings
Buckmaster that shoots around 275. I have never had a deer jump the string but I have never shot at a deer on full alert. I actually think how quiet your
bow is has more to do with it than feet per second. I think I remember seeing
on another forum one time that your bow would have to shoot a lot faster
than 325 fps to avoid the deer jumping string. I can't remember the number but it was unreal.

Just my opinion

·
Registered
23,356 Posts
My bow shoots just under 300 fps, with all of my goodies on it, and I can shoot deer looking at me without string jump, before they are hit.
Wish I could make that statement, I think you've gotten extremely lucky that it hasn't happened. Like buckhorn said I think the noise or lack of is more important than speed but I like fast and quite and them bows do exist. But a person shouldn't shoot a bow that slings an arrow faster than he/she can control and shoot accurately.

·
Registered
1,588 Posts