Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
341 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm new to deer hunting and I'm hoping this will be my first year to get to go. I want to start with a muzzle loader. I'm leaning toward a CVA Buckhorn or a Traditions from Wal Mart. Unless I can find one used. Honestly, I really don't want to spend more than 125 since I'm not sure I'll stick with it. And I don't know anyone who will loan me theirs. Any other ideas besides those two brands? Know anyone who's got a used one for sale for 100 bucks or so? Also, are there any DVD's that show how to load and clean a muzzleloader?
Jared

·
Super Member<br>2006 Photo Contest Winner
991 Posts
I know guys who own both of those guns and they seem to shoot just fine. Another one to look into is the CVA Wolf, My father has one and it shoots just as good as my Thompson Center Omega. It is around your price range I think. Most muzzleloaders come with a video or a book on how to clean and manage your gun.

·
Registered
1,716 Posts
I have the CVA Optima, break breech ML. It is Camo / nickel and it's a .45 cal.

I love this gun. I have owned a Knight, and this gun runs circles around the knight. I paid 180.00 for it new. I would recommend this or the CVA Wolf. I have heard quite a few good things about the Wolf. Most everyone who has one really likes theirs. I know the wolf costs a bit less than the Optima...

And it really isn't hard to learn about ML guns. I may even have a video laying around here that I would let you have, if you wanted it. It wasn't anything special, but it did give some basics. Just let me know , and I'll try to find it.