Ducks and the wind

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by Arkansas duck hunter, Dec 19, 2012.

1. Arkansas duck hunter

Arkansas duck hunter Member<br>2017 Spring Turkey Contest Team Winner

How do yalls hunts usually go in the wind? Going in the morning but not sure what to expect with 20-30 mph wind

2. Deadwood

Deadwood Well-Known Member

was wondering the same thing, its gona effect one thing for sure...thats how you shoot, its gona blow everything you shoot.

3. Manybeards

Manybeards Premium Member<br>2009 Turkey Contest Winner<br>20

Id rather have a lot of wind than no wind any day

4. Deadwood

Deadwood Well-Known Member

not being rude but what does the wind do, and this isnt my thread sorry im new at this duck huntin

5. Yell County Bowhunter

Yell County Bowhunter Well-Known Member

IMO, the good side is they won't raft up on open water, the bad side is they will have trouble getting into the timber, find the right combination and choose wisely and you could have a good day...

6. SwampCat

SwampCat Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporter

Where I hunt - wind is a blessing. Runs ducks off the big water and puts them in the sloughs where you can hunt them. Wind also positions ducks all around the bigwater - wind from the west - the ducks will work into the wind and the sloughs on the west side of the lake will be best. If you scouted today while it was calm and found a few ducks - there may be nothing there tomorrow with the strong wind. Have to scout more off experience than todays ducks.

7. Manybeards

Manybeards Premium Member<br>2009 Turkey Contest Winner<br>20

Typically a duck will land flying into the wind. They use the wind to help stop them when they cup their wings.

8. wood duck whacker

wood duck whacker Well-Known Member