Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
4,995 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The El Nino thread got to me thinking about what truly controls our weather. I mean yes some years are warmer, wetter, dryer, colder. But all in all why has is changed so much in the last 20 years? My degree is in environmental science so I took a lot of climatology classes, mapping, geography, and such. Weather patterns have always interested me. The el nino / la nina patterns have always been around. There is also a lot to do with ice caps melting adding fresh water to salt water which causes current reactions and in turn storm or weather systems. Even with all of this it still puzzled me why it seems summer is lasting longer than it use to and in the same effect so is winter. As a kid I remember playing football in October and needing jackets.....muzzle loading season lighting heaters...wearing thermals bow hunting. By the same token I never remember playing baseball in colder temps. fast forward 10-15 years and I remember opening weekend of deer season using a thermacell and hunting in a t shirt. Same as playing baseball games in March in high 40's temps even sleeting rain. So I did a little research, and formed my own theory.