Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

· Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so bashing can begin for this if you feel the need, im thick skinned i can handle it! Im new to cut off and going to make a maiden voyage this weekend and am curious about a couple things. I asked a little while back if you could walk in and hunt it efficiently and from what i gathered its very do-able. Im not new to hunting public or duck hunting in general so i understand the process. No holes or direction information wanted, but mainly im just curious is there a certain parking lot thats best to park at and whats the time rules on being in there scouting? i HATE going without scouting, especially new land. so im going to be scouting fri afternoon (if i can be in there) and saturday either am or pm if possible because i would like to hunt our rice field thats a couple miles from there saturday morning before i go. But any info would be great! minus hole locations, not trying to internet scout. ill do that with waders, candy bar, water bottle and a gps.

· Registered
1,577 Posts
North end, park on upper east parking area. You can kill birds up in that area (hole not noted) but you will have to walk to get to them. Scout and you will find! You may need more than 1 water bottle and 1 candy bar. That will be one of the better spots that won't be packed. I know some holes "buck brush hole" that are hot spots, but you won't beat any locals to it, it's a spot to be had. But you can do well on the north east end, a place the former AGFC manager frequented from the Mont. office. It's not an easy access, but duck worthy if you do your homework.
Not sure how many birds are still in the area, but that will give you a starting point. My skin is thick as elephant hide, so I don't care. If the ducks are there, there's enough for several people. If they ain't there, they just aren't there.

· Registered
905 Posts