CCNA Cisco

Discussion in 'Campfire' started by stealthycat, Jan 4, 2011.

1. stealthycat

stealthycat Elite Member<br>2015-16 Bow Hunting Contest Winner

what's the best route to take to get Cisco certified?

2. Depends on your experience in networking, primarily in routing and switching. If you have never worked in a network environment, then might want to consider the CCENT first. As far as study material, there are a lot of options, but my opinion is to stick with the Cisco official study guides or a lot of people use Todd Lammle books.

The exams focus on being able to apply what you know, and not really on recall of material. You will have to be able to subnet IP addresses, thats one topic they hammer on and build a lot of questions around. I work on a large, pretty complex WAN network every day, and the test was not very easy for me.

3. stealthycat

I'm a rookie at routers ... but strong telecom background. I need to get this, and I have access to several test routers and switches as well.

So get some Todd Lammle study guides, a couple of routers like 2501's or even 3640's, maybe a switch, go from there maybe?

4. dirtdart

dirtdart Well-Known Member

Oh No! I feel for ya. I'm up to my eyeballs every day in Cisco's. 3800's, 3700's, and 2800's. It's a wonder I don't refer to my kids as octet's.

5. Kris24

Kris24 Well-Known Member

The CCNA is a very comprehensive test. I just recently acquired mine. I took the two test route, meaning I took the ICND1 and ICND2 and that is the route I recommend for a couple of reasons.

First, it cost $250 for the CCNA single exam. If you fail it you are out the $250. If you go the 2 test route you still only pay $250 total, but it is $125 at a time, so if you fail you only lose the $125. That is unless you fail each one.

Second, the amount of knowledge you need to pass each individual exam is somewhat condensed. That alone is a good enough reason.