Arkansas Hunting banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
831 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using a Moultrie trail camera for a couple of years. I like the fact that the infrared sensor will not detect smaller game, such as squirrels and racoons. But here lately I have not been getting any pictures from this camera. I took it down and brought it home to check it out. It seems to work fine other than the fact that it will not detect me until I get about 3 feet from it. That isn't very practical for me to use in the field. I thought about trying to remove the white translucent plastic cover over the sensor and replacing it with a clear piece of plastic and using silicone to seal it around the edges. Do you think that would work? I only paid about a hundred for the camera and have gotten good use out of it up until the last month or so. Is it done, or would you try what I am proposing?

·
Member<br>2006 Photo Contest Winner
148 Posts
that cover over the sensor needs to be there.. it has to be something different...mine does the same thing in the summer time but works good in the winter when it is cooler...

·
Registered
9,846 Posts
To me, it sounds like you've got nothing to loose by trying it. Your camera is certainly not dependable the way it is now. Maybe we'll all learn something. :thumb:

.270Win

·
Member<br>2006 Photo Contest Winner
148 Posts
That white translucent plastic cover over the sensor has a little more to do with the pir sensor than you think..with out it you will not get a pic unless it licks the sensor...do a search for PIR Fresnel Lens so you will see what that cover does...

·
Ultimate Member 2007 Team Turkey Contest Winner
53,804 Posts