Call Question?

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by Carr.45, Dec 30, 2010.

1. Carr.45

Carr.45 Well-Known Member

I am VERY new to duck hunting, only been twice actually. I am looking for a good call, the one I have been practicing with is :censored:, or so I have been informed... I want one that is a good call but not to crazy for a beginner. I was told by several people that my calling sounds really good for a beginner, with other peoples calls, but that I need to throw away the $8 flextone I got at academy. Didnt really expect an $8 call to be that great anyway.

What do you more experienced Quack Smackers recommend? I thought about a DFB but everyone says they are extremely hard to use much less learn on.

Thanks guys.

2. Black OpsThe legend

Black OpsThe legend Member<br>Forum Sponsor<br>www.blackopsduckcalls.c

Most people that find a cutdown keyhole like the DFB to be difficult are used to blowing a call a certain way and have to change the way they call to get the desired results, if you are new you can learn on the DFB and then it will be second nature to you......Course, I'm biased :biggrin:

3. Coldwater

Coldwater Well-Known Member

NEA
    If you are a beginner, any new call may be difficult. Once you learn to really control your air you can pick up any call, even a cut down and learn to use them rather quickly. It's just takes practice. A cut down to me is no more difficult to learn, they just blow differently then your standard duck call.

4. stick n string

stick n string Well-Known Member

Warren