Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Member<br>2014-2015 Deer Hunting Contest Winner
836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had some crazy experiences chasing whitetail bucks for the past 25 years but few if any compare to the events of Saturday evening. An event that from now on will be know as Buck-O-Rama 2015. I hunt on the Nevada/Hempstead county line in Zone 12. This weekend the deer were is a funky crazy mood. Chasing does everywhere the whole woods sounded like a tending grunt video. Between me and the other guys at camp we saw every single shooter buck we had on camera in the daylight.... None were killed, or shot at.

Saturday evening I set up on a creek bank in a thicket that borders a 4 yr old cut over. It is an expressway funnel. I am surrounded by scrapes and rubs the whole place smells like a tarsal gland. Well at 1:30 pm a boone and crooket 4 pt comes out, he was huge and feeds right into range. I think to myself, if they all do this I am good. Shot opportunities in this mess are slim.. Well a few hours later the flood gate lets out I am surrounded by grunting bucks and running does. I saw 3 shooter bucks. One was quite possible the widest deer I have ever seen and he might have been a six point. They all crossed at 30 yards on the creek tending grunts and moving. I tried a doe can call, grunts, snort weeze, yelling meeerrrrppppp. Nothing would stop them or turn them my direction. Well after the bull buck came through I thought well this was a good hunt but hey there is tomorrow. Then the unthinkable happened.