Arkansas Hunting banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new posting to this forum although I have followed it for years. Really enjoy most of it and most guys seem on the same page as far as duck hunting.

Background. I was a farmer of 25 years in the Altheimer area a land owner and duck hunter in Bayou Meto for 40 years. As some of you here I to remember the glory days. I am certainly not going to get into how it’s all changed.

I am certainly not a biologist. I would argue that over those 40 years it has been rare that we have killed a duck with an acorn in his craw. The old timers claimed ducks came to the woods to rest. I am not starting an argument here and if some of you guys say different then I am good with that…. just and observation.

Here is my point. Land has been cleared around Bayou Meto starting in late 1800’s for farming.

The Bayou Meto land was not cleared because it is prone to flooding year after year after year. A lot of it in the spring and summer and sometimes flooding farmland for several miles.

We are talking water way to high to wade like over your head high. It happened three times last year and for weeks at a time.

b2.jpg b1.jpg b2.jpg b3.jpg We were down at camp last weekend. It is at full flood right now. My question I guess would be, to the powers that be, how detrimental is this kind of continued flooding on the oak trees that they are wanting to re-establish??
Is this the real problem killing specific oak trees not when the trees are dormant??

I realize that the new pumping station at little bayou and the new proposed canal system will help some of this problem of spring and summer flooding

Ok.... off soap box.

·
Registered
6,514 Posts
Our private timber is flooded right now too. We are loosing trees year to year to blow downs. No levee's. Just natural flooding

·
Registered
747 Posts