Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Super Member<br>2011 Turkey Contest Winner<br>2013
3,922 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
let's break it down

i've hunted 12-14 years and killed 4 banded ducks and a goose

three banded greenheads (one with a $100 reward band)
one banded wood duck drake
one banded canada (neck and leg, one of those tame ones up on dardanelle)

interested to see how it breaks down for everyone else. when i was little someone told me you'd kill a banded duck for every 500 ducks you killed. never put pen to paper to see if that was true.

·
Registered
3,160 Posts
I've been hunting for 45 years and I have 1 band from a GW teal on my duck call lanyard. I have a lanyard full of duck and goose bands that my first lab won in winning and competing in HRC hunt tests that is on my dog whistle.

Cat

·
Registered
571 Posts
I have hunted for close to 14 years now. I have killed quite a few local honker bands and in fact I have even let a few of em slip through my fingers to others that were on their first hunts. I have killed one migrant honker as well that was banded. But this year I finally killed my first duck band. A banded Mallard drake.

I carry around 12 or so honker bands on the lanyard and the one lone duck band as well. I have a couple of other local honker bands here at the house.

Cat,

The bands you refer to on your whistle lanyard are worth a ton of work, sweat, tears and time. I only have a few of them.

·
Super Member<br>2010 Bowhunting Contest Winner
4,212 Posts
let's break it down

interested to see how it breaks down for everyone else. when i was little someone told me you'd kill a banded duck for every 500 ducks you killed. never put pen to paper to see if that was true.