Arkansas Hunting banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a student at the U of A and I don't have classes til 11. So, I am looking for some public land to just enjoy the outdoors and might get lucky? I will only be hunting with a bow. If anyone has any ideas or know of anywhere please let me know ...... Thanks

·
Registered
14,382 Posts
If you bowhunting, your no-doubt best bet is Wedington. Go out Wedington Rd (Hwy 16) about 15 min W from campus, and you cant miss it. You can download a map of it on agfc.com.

When I was attending the UofA, I lived out by there, but back then it was just one big four-wheeler trail/dump. Deer were very hard to come by. It was closed to all deer hunting for several years, and it recently started a permit-only gun hunt. They're killing some monster bucks out there. There was a booner killed out there last year.

·
Registered
Marlin .308 Bolt and Compound Bow ..
6,006 Posts
If you bowhunting, your no-doubt best bet is Wedington. Go out Wedington Rd (Hwy 16) about 15 min W from campus, and you cant miss it. You can download a map of it on agfc.com.

When I was attending the UofA, I lived out by there, but back then it was just one big four-wheeler trail/dump. Deer were very hard to come by. It was closed to all deer hunting for several years, and it recently started a permit-only gun hunt. They're killing some monster bucks out there. There was a booner killed out there last year.
Ditto on Wedington ..:thumb:

Also close by is West fork.. up just outside the Devils Den State Park :thumb: lotsa Deer up there

Then there is alway White Rock :biggrin:

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
You are sitting in the middle of some great public land. Do a little research on the AGFC's website and the Ozark National Forest Website.