Another Gas Log Fireplace Thread...

Discussion in 'Campfire' started by mlriggs12, Nov 27, 2012.

1. mlriggs12

mlriggs12 Well-Known Member

After reading a previous post around gas log fireplaces and seeing the responses, I now have a question...

We have a gas log fireplace insert in our house, we never use it because it seems to be a waste of gas. It doesn't seem to put off any heat. I've lit it before for 30 minutes or so and been able to place my hand on the surrounding marble tiles and they would simply be room temp or cooler. It appears to me that there is no heat retention and it's all going up and out the vent maybe. I'm no expert by any means on these so I'm wondering if there is a way to make this unit more efficient to use from time to time. We aren't looking to use it on a daily basis, but maybe really cold mornings and it would be nice to have it going on Christmas morning, but to serve a purpose and not just for looks.

I've been told by a couple people that I might be able to swap out the logs to a different type, but it was simply a thought. I have no idea what direction to go with this in the event that is what I need to do....

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. jcp

jcp Well-Known Member

Cato
    Gas logs are meant to be pretty , not really for heating , in saying that they will provide some heat . If you have a flue , yes you lose most of the heat when its open . Let them burn for couple hrs turn off the gas and shut the flue and you will get heat off of them till they cool. You'd be surprised how long a good set of logs stay hot after they are shut down

3. Passthrough

Passthrough Account Suspended