Quantcast
Big Timber WMA

Thread: Big Timber WMA

Big Timber WMA

Hey guys, i know im new to this posting thing but i more of a reader. haha but i do have a quick question. i spend most my time bowhunting on our lease down here and up in kansas, but this year i wanna change things up and do a little tent camping and bowhuntin on some public land down here. One of the places ive got my eye on is Big Timber WMA, but its hard to find anything out on the internet about it. anybody got any information on it? and is moro big pine as poor of hunting as ive heard for a bowhunter? just off season curiosities

I only buy big timber permits to shotgun hogs, went two weeks ago and we killed two big sows. I bet it is some good deer hunting down there, don't know what the pressure is like during deer season though. Early bow season I imagine is loaded with cotton mouths and skeeters.

It's pretty tough to bowhunt Moro unless you can find natural funnels created by sloughs and creeks. You'd likely be better off going a little farter E. to the NWR in that area to bow hunt. Lots of sloughs and creeks = lots of funnels.

folks are tight lipped about....

the deer hunting down on Big Timber WMA...and it depends on area you are looking at hunting....I have kin folks who live up there and have a camp in the area and they kill some nice bucks every year....got a good number of deer and some big bucks in there.....I'm going on a freezer filler hunt there before the season closes.....hope to have more info for you

My brother has killed two dandy's from BT- including a double drop tine buck. The guys he hunts there with have killed some wall hangers as well.

It is pressured during gun season but it seems like most people stay close to the logging roads. Get away from the crowd closer to private land and you can do some good.

I've been there once and saw a few deer. It is a great looking place though.