Accuracy vs Cost in rimfire rifles

Accuracy vs Cost in rimfire rifles

I have been drooling over Anchutz and Cooper rimfire rifles for several years now. They are beautiful guns and from what Ive read extremely accurate. I am wondering if the accuracy matches the cost increase. I like to punch paper in the spring and summer with my rimfire's but as soon as the weather starts cooling off they go back to their primary job. Squirrel rifles. I bought a Marlin 917 chambered in 17 HM2 back in 2006 for $189.00. It was very accurate out of the box and since then it has been my primary small game gun. A few years ago I decided I wanted to see how accurate I could get it. I replaced the trigger with a rifle basix trigger, glass bedded the action, and free floated the barrel and put a Leupold Rifleman 3X9 on top of it. It made a big difference. I am not the worlds greatest shot but then again I am not the worse. My real problem is I am right handed but left eye dominant. I can only look through a rifle scope for a few second before I have to start fighting the urge to open my left eye. It effects my shooting. Anyways, depending on my ability and the conditions of the day I have shot 5 shot groups as small as half an inch at 100 and as large as 1.25 inches at 100. Usually, the gun stays under an inch at 100. I have a feeling if I spent money on a better scope I could shrink the groups even more but I do not see the need as it is a field gun.The gun is now more accurate than I am capable of shooting. Including the initial cost of the rifle, the scope, the glass bedding kit, and the trigger, I have a little over $500 in this gun. As its primary purpose is to hunt, I do not expect the same accuracy in the field as I get off the bench. I have head shot a squirrel with it at about 70 yards though. With the Anchutz and Coopers that I want running $1500 to $2000, can I expect them to be 3 to 4 times more accurate than my Marlin in the field? I don't have the money for one now so curr