little red river trout tips

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I've want to start trout fishing more on the little red at Ramsey landing and the new landing. I'm fairly new to trout fishing. How do you normally fish the little red? Do you drift? What baits are your favorites? do you switch it up any with current or water level change? Any tips or suggestions are appreciated!

If you search the fishing forum, I bet there are several threads addressing this topic. My preferred way to fish for trout is with a fly rod. Spinning tackle is a close second. Use a good light line that is lo-vis with a light action rod 5.5' - 6 ' A couple of my favorite lures are a Rebel wee craw or a small golden Rapala Minnow. You can catch rainbows or browns on those. I am sure someone else will chime in. There are a bunch of ways to go after trout. If you don't know a lot about reading a river, I would study up on that subject. It will help you find fish.

Bullet weight (Carolina rigs )...14-18 inches of leader...one # 12 hook...power bait ( various colors ) or 1 white marshmellow and lastly, 1 wax worm ..hang on !!
    Oh, and you'll need one of those hook-remover guns...worth it's weight in gold. When in doubt...small crank baits....trolling w/ them...is so easy a cave man can do it !! Recently I landed an eating size walleye...at JFK !!!

I will second the hook remover guns, and offer my favorite bait casting option: a segment or 2 of cocktail shrimp under a white or yellow power bait, on the same style carolina rig. White and red rivers both, I always do well with shrimp. I buy the smallest sized ones in the frozen bags, (any grocery store or wal mart freezer aisle) and 6 bucks or less will provide enough bait for several people to do a LOT of fishing. just take out a shrimp, cut off a segment or two big enough to cover the hook, and let er fling! often get bites long before it even settles.